Writing again…?

This is a short entry I wrote as a response to a five why assignment for the Literati Writers’ online group led by Dave Ursillo. It feels like a cool way of re-entering the world of written creativity now that my two masterpieces have left the nest (yes, yes, my children). 

This morning I decided to join the Literati Writers. Why? Because in the last two days I have become an empty nester and I’ve been feeling the need for taking even the tiniest step towards my life as a new “long distance mom”. Why is that step important? Because it helps me shift the pity party into a pool of possibility. I may be a writer, I may not. Time will tell. But today, as I type these words, I’m reconnecting with a part of myself that’s been kept quiet as life immersed me in the art of motherhood instead. But today my shoulder hurts and if I’m to believe Dave, it means my creative self is asking for immediate attention. Why do I choose to actually pay attention? Because if I don’t I will end up like my mom who, after raising 6 children, lost all sense of direction once we moved out. She died many years later, a prisoner of dark thoughts and emptiness. In her name, I want to discover the joys of my second spring, with my heart leading the way and nothing to prove. Why am I following the joy? Because I’m not my mom but the love I feel for her demands I heal this pattern of fear and depression. To honor all the love she gave me. To honor myself. And to honor my daughter’s right to a bright life journey.

5 thoughts on “Writing again…?

  1. susanblake

    The empty nest phase – ah, I remember it well. Though it did not FEEL well. After almost two decades of identifying myself with motherhood, I felt oddly UNemployed. It is time to become who YOU are, just you, you the WHOLE person. And it’s scary. Mostly because moms lose so much of themselves in mothering without really acknowledging it. And now, well, it slaps you in the face.

    Celebrate your time, my dear one. Honor whatever urges you have. Try whatever you want to with confidence and enjoy the journey.
    Love and hugs,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

