My Bold Truth

This is a response I posted today for a 10 day photography/writing class I’m part of. The prompt was “truth”.

DSCF2101

Yesterday I came very, very close to dropping out of this class.

I started last week full of enthusiasm at the idea of growing and creating with both words and photography. Five days later, anxiety symptoms had returned and I was once again filled with self-doubt.  Surely, real depth came from darkness if I were to trust the vibes permeating the class. Most posted about their pain and struggles. Captures of moments of joy and light were few and far between, timid exceptions to a sad rule. “This is not my truth”, I thought, “not my tribe.”

Every human journey is unique, yet we all share the same pain and challenges through the simple facts that we breathe the same air and feel the same emotions. We all taste loss, unworthiness, and fear. We all, sooner or later, touch the bottom of our humanness. It teaches us about humility, compassion, and resilience.  But we also all hold the capacity for joy. I too walked the walk of the wounded, trapped in the pit of my own sorrow. I too created from that space when it was the only relief in sight. It made room for healing and new possibilities, and little by little, the light returned.

There’s power and nurturing in this light because it knows the darkness well and like roots planted deep in the soil need sunshine and rain to grow into all they can be, I now choose to create from that space of hope and love. Love for my journey, for myself, for you, for Life. I choose Joy. I choose to celebrate every moment I get to embrace who I am and be a grateful witness to all that life has to offer.

This is my truth and today I boldly stand up for it.

Maryse Godet Copans © 2015

11 thoughts on “My Bold Truth

  1. Very well written and expressed Maryse. And I was thinking as I read it, that all of your moments, whether in darkness or light, are precious. They made you who you are today. I celebrate all of you! And your journey. And your openess to explore your creativity. The sky’s the limit! As your pic says to me.

  2. So many of us can relate to that moment of questioning where we are, whether we belong there, and the doubts that result. You powered through all that to find your truth and your courage to continue to confidently express yourself. Love it.

Leave a Reply

