This Pilgrim’s Prayer

Part Two : Orisson to Roncesvalles
This is, by most accounts, the most intense part of the Camino. 14 km uphill across the French/Spanish border, to a summit at 1450m.
Roland perished here in 448 and his song still haunts the pass on misty days.

 

May I carve my own path, through the muddy or green pastures of my mind. My heart, friendly foe, will only speak when asked.

May I meet the sunrise with eager eyes and willing feet, and focus, not on my journey’s end, but on its potential.

May I laugh and cry with strangers; may I stand alone too lest I miss the tinkling of sheep bells in the distance.

May I surrender to the fog enveloping the hills like a shroud of unanswered questions, and remember, in the wind’s silence, that trees can sway and still stay rooted.

May I find my own pace through the restlessness of unbending desires:

To be light.

To be free.

To find meaning on an unforgiving climb that somehow forgives everything.

May I not wish for smoother trails but know instead the nature of every drop of rain, every turned stone, and carry within me the message of their simple godliness.

Each placed to wake me from sleepwalking.

Each begging to share the sacred space of my pilgrimage.

Each urging my heart to do the leading.

May my weary body greet the night with pleasure, and my anxious spirit relax in the mystery of the traveler’s path.

May I walk ever onward, safe and aware, and remember that within each step lies the secret of life itself,

quiet,

stubborn.

Victorious.

 

“The function of prayer is not to influence God, but rather to change the nature of the one who prays.”
― Søren Kierkegaard

 

Passport Stamp [PS] #3: Don’t wait till all else fails to pray.

 

DSCF1441

Maryse Godet Copans © 2017

 

 

2 thoughts on “This Pilgrim’s Prayer

  1. This is so poetic and beautiful Maryse. I love the stained glass windows, like celestial light shining on all who pass underneath. Your beautiful words touch me as i’m going through my own journey, and remind me that I’m not alone. Thank you for sharing this beautiful prayer.

  2. Linda, I so look forward to your comment each time I post. Thank you so much! The stained glass window belongs to the cathedral of Toledo. I took the picture back in 2014 and it seemed to want to be added to my writing today. May you walk your path with ease, dear you!

Leave a Reply

